Super-Powered Prose: Blood Oath by Christopher Farnsworth

I hate Christopher Farnsworth.

Not because he’s a bad writer. Not because Blood Oath is a bad novel. He’s actually quite talented and I enjoyed the novel immensely.

No, I hate him because he came up with The President’s Vampire first.

Let’s be honest: it’s a great concept for a novel. Based on a Fortean legend that President Andrew Johnson pardoned a vampire, Farnsworth creates the character of Nathaniel Cade. Cade’s a 160 year old vampire bound by magic to serve whoever is the sitting President of the United States.

For well over a hundred years, Cade served as the United States’ first line of defense against the occult.

Around this ingenious concept, Farnsworth builds an entire world that lies in the shadows, a world he only begins to show us in the pages of Blood Oath. In the process he creates an epic page turner of a novel; a piece of modern pulp fiction of the highest caliber.

I’m not going to give anything else away about this novel. I will just say this: if you’re a fan of pulp fiction, superheroes, or just good storytelling, you owe it to yourself to check out Blood Oath. I think you will be glad you did. Highly Recommended.

About Nick Ahlhelm

Nicholas Ahlhelm has let his love for superheroes as a concept pretty much overwhelm his good sense. He has been a fan of super-powered prose fiction since he discovered Wild Cards at twelve. Since then, he has expanded his reading and viewing to cover superheroes through every means he can find, whether comics, prose fiction, movies, television, or transmedia sources. At the same time, he started to craft his own superhero narratives, developing the ongoing Quadrant Universe while dabbling in pulp and sports fiction. He lives in Eastern Iowa with his wife and two daughters, in an increasingly small house.
Tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.

  • Copyright Notice

    Super Powered Fiction and all material on the site is copyright © 2010-2013 Nicholas Ahlhelm unless otherwise noted. Individual articles copyright © their respective authors.